Posted on Leave a comment

The Layering – Preorder

Preorder. Released 22nd September 2020.
The CDs are now sold out but the album is available to download at our Bandcamp page, Amazon, The Tidal Store, 7digital etc and can be streamed on Spotify, Apple Music, Deezer, YouTube etc.

Features music and accompanying text on the tracks by: Circle/Temple, The Heartwood Institute, Sproatly Smith, A Year In The Country, Field Lines Cartographer, Howlround, Folclore Impressionista, Handspan, Widow’s Weeds, Listening Center, Vic Mars, Pulselovers and Grey Frequency.

The album explores the way that places are literally layered with history, and is an audio slicing through the layers of time. It journeys amongst the stories and characters of these layers, including, amongst other aspects, the structures built, events which took place and different era’s technologies and belief systems.

Such layering can go far back into pre-recorded history. Much of the earth is thought to have once been underwater, and it is likely that the majority of cities, towns and villages are built in fomer ocean areas. Current land masses have come to be formed, in part, through a layering of past marine, other life and plants, which in turn are then quarried or mined, subsequently being used to create the infrastructure of contemporary civilisation, and creating something of a cyclical, time-out-of-joint nature to the layers of time.

The layering of time can also take many other forms: modern homes and buildings are often built on top of the remains of previous settlements, which at times are discovered when new building work is carried out; contemporary roads and pathways follow the same routes as ancient roads and trails, which have been travelled down for millennia; often forgotten or abandoned tunnel networks, bunkers, railway lines, telephone exchanges etc lie under cities and towns; active and former mines thread underneath rural areas; churches are built on ancient places of worship, and then in turn are sometimes abandoned themselves, and become the sites for modern day revelries such as gigs, dance music events and so on.

The Layering is a reflection on how these, and other varied strata, are layered on top of one another, and/or sit side-by-side, with some being recorded, while others are forgotten or unknown, becoming part of a hidden or semi-hidden history.


Dawn Light Edition. Limited to 208 copies.
White/black CD album in textured recycled fold out sleeve with fold-out insert and badge.

Further packaging details:
1) Hand finished and custom printed using archival giclée pigment ink by A Year In The Country.
2) Includes metal badge, secured with removable glue on string bound tag.
3) 1 x folded sheet of accompanying notes, printed on textured laid paper, hand numbered on back.


1: A Year In The Country – Cross Sections Of Time
2: Circle/Temple – The Hollow Stream Buried
3: The Heartwood Institute – Beneath The City Streets
4: Sproatly Smith – Chapel Still Stands
5: Field Lines Cartographer – Layers Of Belief
6: Howlround – A Heart Shaped Forest
7: Folclore Impressionista – The Problem Of Symmetry
8: Handspan – At The End Of The Aerial Flight
9: Widow’s Weeds – Gilmerton Cove
10: Listening Center – Wattle And Daub Office Blocks
11: Vic Mars – Once There Were Houses
12: Pulselovers – Brodsworth
13: Grey Frequency – Tigguo Cobauc


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.