Posted on Leave a comment

The Quietened Cosmologists – Released: Artifact Report #40/52a

The Quietened Cosmologists-six Night and Dawn editions-front

The CDs are now sold out but the album is available to download at our Bandcamp page, Amazon, The Tidal Store, 7digital etc and can be streamed on Spotify, Apple Music, Deezer, YouTube etc.

Artifact #5a

Featuring audiological explorations by Field Lines Cartographer, Pulselovers, Magpahi, Howlround, Vic Mars, Unit One, A Year In The Country, Keith Seatman, Grey Frequency, Time Attendant, Listening Center, Polypores and David Colohan.

The Quietened Cosmologists is a reflection on space exploration projects that have been abandoned and/or that were never realised, of connected lost or imagined futures and dreams, the intrigue and sometimes melancholia of related derelict sites and technological remnants that lie scattered and forgotten.

It takes as its initial starting points the shape of the future’s past via the discarded British space program of the 1950s to 1970s; the sometimes statuesque and startling derelict artifacts and infrastructure from the Soviet Union’s once far reaching space projects; the way in which manned spaceflight beyond Earth’s orbit/to the moon and the associated sense of a coming space age came to be largely put to one side after the 1969 to 1972 US Apollo flights.

Available via our Artifacts Shop, our Bandcamp Ether Victrola and at Norman Records.
Dawn Edition £11.95. Night Edition £24.95.

Both editions hand-finished and custom printed using archival giclée pigment ink by
A Year In The Country.


Preview the tracks at Soundcloud.


Dawn Edition. Limited to 104 copies. £11.95.
Hand-finished white/black CDr album in textured recycled fold out sleeve with inserts and badge.

The Quietened Cosmologists-Dawn edition-front back and opened-A Year In The CountryThe Quietened Cosmologists-Dawn Edition-A Year In The CountryThe Quietened Cosmologists-Dawn edition-back and badge-A Year In The CountryThe Quietened Cosmologists-Dawn Edition-opened-A Year In The CountryThe Quietened Cosmologists-Edition-white-black-CD-A-Year-In-The-Country
Top of CD.                                                          Bottom of CD.

Further encasement details:
1) Custom printed using archival giclée pigment ink.
2) Includes 25mm/1″ badge, secured with removable glue on string bound tag.
3) Back of one insert hand numbered.


Night Edition. Limited to 104 copies. £24.95.
Hand-finished box-set contains: album on all black CDr, 12 page string bound booklet, 4 x badge pack, 4 x stickers, 1 x large badge.
The Quietened Cosmologists-Night edition-A Year In The Country-2The Quietened Cosmologists-Night Edition-opened-A Year In The Country The Quietened Cosmologist-Night Edition-all componentsThe Quietened Cosmologists-Night Edition-booklet-A Year In The CountryThe Quietened Cosmologists-Night-Edition-all-black-CD-A-Year-In-The-Country
Top of CD.                                                            Bottom of CD.

Further encasement details:
1) Booklet/cover art custom printed using archival giclée pigment ink.
2) Contained in a matchbox style sliding two-part rigid matt card box with cover print.
3) Fully black CDr (black on top, black on playable side).
4) Black string bound booklet: 12 pages (6 sides printed);
Printed on textured fine art cotton rag paper, heavy card and semi-transparent vellum.
Hand numbered on the reverse.
5) 4 x badge set, contained in a see-through polythene bag with a folded card header.
6) 1 x large badge.
7) 4 x vinyl style stickers.

The Quietened Cosmologists-Night edition-three booklets-A Year In The Country

The Quietened Cosmologists-Night Edition-4 sticker designs-A Year In The Country-2

Further audiological exploration details:

1) OPS-4 – Field Lines Cartographer
2) Lonely Puck – Pulselovers
3) Chayka – Magpahi
4) Night Call, Collect – Howlround
5) X-3 – Vic Mars
6) Voyages Of The Moon – Unit One
7) The March Of Progress/Frontier Dreams – A Year In The Country
8) 093A-Prospero – Keith Seatman
9) Phantom Cosmonauts – Grey Frequency
10) Adrift – Time Attendant
11) Mléčný Perihelion Weekend – Listening Center
12) The Amateur Astronomer – Polypores
13) Landfall At William Creek – David Colohan

Artwork/encasment design and fabrication by AYITC Ocular Signals Department

Artifact #5a / Library Reference Numbers: A010TQCN / A010TQCD

The Quietened Cosmologists-landscape artwork-4

“‘Mléčný Perihelion Weekend’ by Listening Center takes us to a strange ticking otherworldy place, a place that feels at once vast and infinite, a haunting slice of space music… The record ends with ‘Landfall at William Creek’, David Colohan’s spectral hammered dulcimer peels away into the inky vastness of space, a beautiful end to a fine record.
Andrew Young, Terrascope

The Quietened Cosmologists-landscape artwork-2

The Quietened Cosmologists’ features a dozen spectral suites, each exploring the various aspects, forgotten histories and what ifs of these golden age adventures… Pulselovers serve up ‘Lonely Puck’ – a wonderfully serene and affectionate love note mailed out from across the outer edges of the cosmos, a transmission from a long lost and forgotten outpost if you like, twinkle toned and radiantly awash in what sounds like shimmering cosmic church bell celebrations… While last one for this brief ride, Field Lines Cartographer’s ‘OPS-4’ with its binary shimmer tones and vapour rubbed ethereal detailing, cuts a finite line between the enchanting and the eerie, a ghost flotilla perhaps a sonic spectre of sorts or rather more, an orbital occurrence with past visions looped on endless replay.
Mark Barton, The Sunday Experience


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.